High School Is A Scary Place

Thought I was dead, did you? Well, in a sense, you’re right! So, I started high school last Wednesday, and I don’t wanna go back tomorrow. It’s only been 3 days. And I’m dead. Hey, but at least I didn’t get lost at school. I do wonder where this school year is gonna go, though.

I haven’t been blogging much, but now that school’s started, I feel like I’m going to be blogging even less (although I wasn’t really doing anything in the first place). (Funny thing is, I keep getting followers and I haven’t been active for SO LONG.)

Honestly, high school is an experience I’m going to have a hard time describing to you all, but I’ll give it a shot.

First of all, it’s really odd being a freshman. After being an 8th grader for a year (the highest grade), it’s weird being all the way back in the youngest grade. Not only that, but you can just FEEL all the sophomores, juniors, and seniors judge you. Heck, even the freshman. It’s like you somehow know they’re calling the freshman “so young, so immature,” and it’s really intimidating.

And to make matters worse, I’m really tiny. Like, compared to everyone else, I’m probably the shortest. I was hoping there’d be at least one person shorter than me, but there were none that I could see… All the freshman entered the school super tall. Even the tallest people from my middle school are barely average height. Which makes me uncomfortable.

Although, being small isn’t really the only reason I feel uncomfortable. Most of my friends have a lunch period together… but it’s different from mine. I guess I feel slightly left out. Everyone seems to have their own groups already – they probably all came from the same school – so it’s really hard to go up to them alone. I don’t want to look (or feel) lonely, because that’s an easy way to get picked on – oh and not to mention, I feel like being small makes me seem vulnerable.

I’m not saying short people are weak, but I am saying that a lot of bigger people do tend to make fun of smaller people. And I know I shouldn’t worry about my size, and all that self-esteem boosting stuff, but in reality, it doesn’t change the fact that I still feel insecure.

Aside from the people, my classes are scaring me too. I’m taking advanced courses, and I’m afraid it could lead to very stressful nights very early in the year. I already got complex homework on the first few days of school. And the teachers are all NEW, so I have no idea what to expect from them and what they expect from me.

I’m hoping the workload isn’t TOO much. I’ve been told the first 2 years are easy in terms of work… but I don’t know what’s considered easy. Worst case scenario, I’m hoping that it’ll be as much work as last year, not more, ’cause heck, last year’s workload sucked. Some teachers say, “You might not hate me today, but you’ll hate me tomorrow, because my classes are practically college level, so be prepared.” Others say, “I try not to give a lot of work to my students, so I expect you to turn it all in,” but we all know when teachers say that, they still give a lot of assignments anyways.

Maybe later in the year (hopefully soon), I’ll find more people to hang out with. I mean, I’m planning on joining a few clubs, so maybe that’s where I’ll find people with common interests. That sounds too formal… maybe I’ll make friends in clubs. 😉

I guess I’ll wrap up this post, though. Expect more school rants from me in the future. Wish me luck! And good luck to everyone who started school and all who are going to start soon! ❤

Sayonara! ~Annabeth♥

 

28 thoughts on “High School Is A Scary Place

  1. You know how there’s this joke where short people are really mean or not as timid as stereotypes say? I feel like it could be because we are short we feel like we appear vulnerable so we need to toughen up in personality to avoid getting picked on.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bruh I’m 4’11, and was when I began highschool last year.
    Most people tend to know others from social media for whatever reason, so it is hard to make friends in highschool. I hope you will make some eventually!
    P.S HIGH SCHOOL IS A LOT HARDER THAN WHAT YOU’RE USED TO DEALING WITH. HAVE FUN WITH SLEEPLESS NIGHTS. tbh it’s all good as long as you don’t procrastinate, ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Most of my friends are from the same middle school, so I’m glad I know some people. And thanks, I hope so too.
      I’ll try not to procrastinate, thanks for the advice. 🙂

      Like

  3. Believe it or not, it gets easier. You’ll be surprised at how you’ll start making friends and even from other grade levels. It’s very intimidating at first! I am short as well so being short when I went into HS was scary, but you’ll end up seeing a lot more shorties around :). Own it! You’ll do great.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m going to be a sophomore on Friday. So here’s advice for your freshman year: get stuff done. It’s your first year in high school, so it’s crucial. Trust me. After freshman year, it will be easier. Plus, I’m short too. 😉 I’m going to a new school, and I seen people in my school. They’re very tall, and I feel like a gnome.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What you could do is find one of the people in the group of friends that u see at lunch and pretty much become friends with them . After the person might ask who u sit with at lunch and then there’s ur chance to sit with them .

    The older kids are just curious to see what kind of kids came. Sometimd they judge you most don’t care though after a while they’ll just forget and just go on with their days. Don’t worry about them though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the advice. 🙂
      Yeah, I don’t really care that much, but it still is kinda annoying that they just lump all the freshman together as immature brats. :\ I think being called a freshman is basically an insult.

      Like

  6. lol dont worry there are 8th graders at my school who are shorter than me
    and if youre shorter than me then thats REALLY short
    and im like 4’11” and i know a ton of guys and girls who are about like 4’6″ and shorter and theyre white and fatter than me
    yeah its depressing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol, I’m 4’ll” also. A lot of people are a lot taller than me, but I’d probably say a majority of the short people are at least 5’…
      You’ll probably have a growth spurt or somethin. 7th-8th is when most of the boys grew a ton.

      Liked by 1 person

Got Anything to Say? Speak Your Mind!

