Ajin – First Thoughts

Ajin

Well, this is a currently ongoing anime (I think) and has 5 (or 6) episodes so far, of which I’ve only seen 1.  It won’t really be a review because I haven’t seen much of the series, but I thought I’d express some of my first thoughts on this anime and see what you guys think.

Art: The art style definitely is interesting.  It’s kind of 3D based and has a lot more shading and forms, rather than the flat objects in most other anime.  It took a few minutes to get used to, and quite frankly I can’t say I’ve completely adapted to this different style.  It’s kind of cool, but for me, personally, I’d prefer the 2D looking anime.  That’s just my preference though, I totally respect your other opinions.  It will take a lot of getting used to, however.

Plot: Well, when you only watch the first episode, it’s hard to tell where this is going to lead.  But I will say, it took you right in within the last half of the episode.  I’ll try not to spoil anything, but again, it’s only the first episode: Basically, it starts you off in Africa (I think) where the people are fighting something called an Ajin, which is a creature similar to a human but cannot die… or at least that’s what I’m assuming based on the later scene where they learn about Ajins in class.  And then you meet the main character and go through some tough times, and next thing you know, you’re trying to escape with someone you haven’t seen in a while.

Pace: I do admit, it was a very quick-paced anime, but I think it got some of the main points in there, as well as a small backstory.  It jumps right in with a battle scene and then goes to a more mellow school-type scene.  Later on, something happens to the main character and he’s basically running for his life.  That escalated quickly, right?

Characters: As previously stated, I’ve only seen the first episode, and the characters haven’t been developed completely at this point.  Although, so far, the main character, his sister, an old friend, and some extras (his mother, classmates, and police/government) have been introduced.  They do have a brief backstory on the main character, so I hope that will be revealed in more detail as the series progresses. (The main character’s name is Kei).  Kei’s friend, maybe another main character, is named Kai, who has a pretty cool hairstyle if I do say so myself. xP  He seems really devoted even after what happens; on the outside he acts as if he had never met Kei, but on the inside, he seems like he wants to protect Kei as a childhood friend, or even a brother.  ;P

Subtitles: I’ve poked around to find this anime, and every time I find a video, it seems it’s the same one.  The subtitles are horrible, they don’t even make proper English sentences.  However, I guess you get the gist of what they’re saying and what’s going on. Hopefully they’ll get better.

Now off to go watch the rest of the episodes!

Sayonara! ~chbannabeth1♥

 

4 thoughts on “Ajin – First Thoughts

Got Anything to Say? Speak Your Mind!

